Prestige Awards

The Institution's Prestige Awards celebrate and recognise excellent engineering in both academia and professional practices.

Awards are open to Members and non-members of the Institution. They champion engineers who have improved the world, or advanced the discipline of engineering both through professional and volunteering efforts.

Find out more about each award and how to apply below.
Closing date for applications is 10 April 2018.

2018 Awards

James Clayton Prize
Prize: Up to £10,000 plus certificate
Awarded to a member(s) of the Institution who, contributes most in that year (or over recent years) to modern engineering science – by way of research, invention, experimental work, a paper on a modern engineering subject, originality in engineering design or by service to engineering. 

James Watt International Gold Medal
The premier international award of the Institution is awarded biennially (next awarded in 2018) to an eminent engineer who has attained world-wide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction - science and research, invention or production.

Alastair Graham-Bryce Award 
Prize: £5,000 and trophy

Prize(s) awarded to an individual or group making a significant contribution to the encouragement of young people towards a career in engineering.  

Verena Winifred Holmes Award 
Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

The Verena Winifred Holmes Award (previously the Equality and Diversity Award) is intended to recognise those individuals who have achieved by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation.  

Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering 
Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

This award recognises any eminent engineer who has contributed most in the understanding and/or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering.   

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal
Awarded for the best original papers published by the Institution in the past 12 months.

Ask a question

Contact our prizes and awards team if you have any questions about our awards, scholarships or prizes.