Engineering Heritage Awards

Established in 1984, our awards recognise pioneering engineering artefacts, locations, collections and landmarks.

Celebrating our engineering heritage

    Our Engineering Heritage Awards celebrate the contribution of mechanical engineering to our past and present. Recognising irreplaceable artefacts from hovercraft to sewage works, railway lines to bombers, the awards raise public awareness of the vital role mechanical engineering plays in modern life.

Over 132 awards presented to date.

Visit key past winners

  • The Vickers Wellington Bomber
  • The Pocket Power Station
  • Beyer Peacock Garratt K1 Locomotive

Visit the Historypin website to take our 'Top 25' tour


Read about award winners

Want to find out about each Engineering Heritage Award recipient? Read our Engineering Heritage Awards Handbook.

Make a nomination

To make a nomination, you'll need to download and complete the Engineering Heritage Awards application pack and send it to us.

You don't need to be an Institution member to make an application and can nominate your own item, building or organisation.

Apply now

Need some help?

Contact our Engineering Heritage Awards team if you have any questions about the awards.