James Watt International Gold Medal

This award is the premier international award of the Institution. Nominations are invited from overseas societies and eminent UK engineers are also eligible.

The Medal is awarded biennially to an eminent engineer who has attained world-wide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction - science and research, invention, production. This prize will be awarded in 2019. 

How to apply

Closing date: 31 March 2019 

Download and submit the nomination form and any other supporting documents to:

Karen Frost 
IMechE Prizes and Awards Department 
ASK House 
Northgate Avenue 
Bury St Edmunds 
IP32 6BB 
United Kingdom


Gold medal.


The Award is open to Institution Members of all grades as well as non-members.

Previous winners

List of previous James Watt International Gold Medal winners.

Nominations process

Nominations are considered by the Trustee Board Awards Committee in May and recommendations for awards are forwarded to the Trustee Board for approval in June.

Successful recipients are notified by the President at the end of June and invited with a guest of their choice to a celebration of their success in London in the Autumn.

Contact us

If you have any queries or experience problems downloading the nomination form contact us:

Email: awards@imeche.org 
Telephone: +44 (0) 1284 717887

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.