James Clayton Prize

Awarded for exceptional contribution to mechanical engineering and related science, technology and invention. Achievement will be best demonstrated by way of a recent product or research project, or experimental work, from either an industrial or academic source in any geographical location over a typical period (circa 5 years). 

Apply now

How to apply

Download and submit the nomination form below and any other supporting documents by 31 March 2019 to:

Karen Frost 
ASK House 
IMechE Prizes and Awards Department 
Northgate Avenue 
Bury St Edmunds 
IP32 6BB 
United Kingdom


Up to £10,000.00 plus certificate. Ideally the James Clayton Prize should be split up as appropriate, i.e. £2,500 x 4 + certificates.


The award is open to all Institution Members of all grades. Candidates are permitted to nominate themselves.

Previous winners

2017 - Bridget Eickhoff and Neville Jackson
2016 - Anne Neville.
2014 - Andy Cowell.

Find out more about past James Clayton prize winners.

Nominations Process

Nominations are considered by the Trustee Board Awards Committee in May and recommendations for awards are forwarded to the Trustee Board for approval in June. Successful recipients are notified by the President at the end of June and invited with a guest of their choice to a celebration of their success in London in the Autumn.

Contact us

If you have any queries or experience problems downloading the form contact us:
Email: awards@imeche.org 
Telephone: +44 (0) 1284 717887


Ask a question

Contact our prizes and awards team if you any questions about our awards, scholarships or prizes.