Powertrain Systems and Fuels Group Prizes

The Powertrain Systems and Fuels Group has a total budget allocation of £350 for distribution to recognise the achievement of an engineer in the Group’s field of expertise by offering the The Dugald Clerk Prize (serial 321) and The Herbert Akroyd Stuart Award (serial 323) 

The Dugald Clerk Prize (serial 321)

Awarded annually to the author(s) of an original paper dealing with a subject with which the late Sir Dugald Clerk was associated (i.e. marine/automobile internal combustion engines) or for contribution or achievement in that field.

The Herbert Akroyd Stuart Award (serial 323)

Awarded for the best paper on the subject of ‘The Origin and Development of Heavy Oil Engines’ published by the Institution during the previous year and deemed to be of sufficient merit.

Institution Prizes

The Group also makes nominations to the Trustee Board Awards Committee for the IMechE's Major Prizes and Awards by 31 March each year:

James Clayton Prize

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal

IMechE Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering

George Stephenson Gold Medal

James Watt International Gold Medal


Graduate of the Year Award 2016

The CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year competition is open to graduates who have recently completed a course that is likely to lead towards a career in building services engineering.

Find out more and how to apply


For further information on the Prizes and Awards please email awards@imeche.org

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.