How we are governed

Powertrain Systems and Fuels Group Committee

Steve Sapsford - Chair

steve sapsford Consultant

Steve joined Ricardo in 1986 after graduating in mechanical engineering from Southampton University and worked initially in 1-D gas dynamics simulation. 

He then moved to the Refinement Centre where he worked on the application of 1-D gas dynamics to exhaust and intake noise prediction using WAVE.  He formed the CFD applications group in 1993 working principally on coolant, in-cylinder and manifold flows.

In 2005, Steve went on to run Ricardo Software, supplying many OEMs and motorsport companies with analysis software to optimise engine performance and design. In 2007, he was promoted to Global Product Group Director for all gasoline engine business in 2007.

In 2010 he became the Global Market Sector Director for high performance vehicles, and in 2014 he became the Business Strategy Director for the Technical Consulting business.

Steve left Ricardo in September 2018 to set up his own consultancy providing strategic advice and business development services.

Professor Hua Zhao - Immediate Past Chair

Vice Dean Research of the College of Engineering, Design and Physical Science, Brunel University London

Hua ZhaoProfessor Hua Zhao is  a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng). He was  the Chairman of the PSFG group  during 2014-2018.

Prof. Zhao has published 6 books on IC engines and over 350 papers. He was award of the higher doctoral degree of DSc in 2009 and  Fellowship of  SAE International (FSAE) in 2012 and FREng in 2015.


Dr Kian Banisoleiman - Past Chair

Lloyd's Register EMEA

Professor Morgan Heikal - Past Chair

Dr Roy Horrocks - Past Chair

Roy Horrocks Nov-2018 300Chair of the South Essex Area

Dr Roy Horrocks completed an indentured engineering apprenticeship and went on to graduate with an MSc in Automobile Engineering from Cranfield University.  He later achieved a PhD from Brunel University London.  His career focused on diesel engine design and development, holding a number of engineering management positions at the Ford Motor Company. 

Dr Horrocks retired from Ford in 2014 after 35 years’ service. He is an Honorary Fellow of Brunel University London and was elected a fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers in May 2008.  He has served on IMechE’s Powertrain Systems and Fuels Group since 2002 and was Chair for four years.  

Rik Alewijinse

Dr Rama Balachandran

Professor Alisdair Cairns

Professor in Automotive Propulsion Systems and Head of the Powertrain Research Centre, University of Nottingham

Alasdair Cairns has 20 years’ experience covering key aspects of light and heavy duty IC engine fuels, performance, fuel economy and emissions. His early career included ten years with the UK consultancy business Cosworth Technology/MAHLE Powertrain, where he led large collaborative R&D programmes on advanced fuels and IC Engine operation.

He joined academia in 2010, initially with Brunel University London before moving to Nottingham in 2016. His research covers land, stationary and marine powertrain applications.

Dr Salvio Chacko

Professor Roger Cracknell

Shell Global Solutions UK

David Entwistle


Sean Harman

sean harman

D&R supervisor, Engine Engineering, Ford Motor Company

After graduating in 1988, Sean worked for GEC Avionics specialising in gyroscopes that went in applications from Torpedoes, Harrier Jump jets, to active suspension on cars.

He moved to Ford, where he has developed engines, systems and component. He introduced Diesel Common Rail into Ford Engines: he was the technical manager for  the 2.2L diesel developed for Transit, PSA boxer and LR Defender.  He worked in Detroit on V8 gasoline systems: he ran an office embedded in PSA for joint venture work on Passenger car diesel development. More recently he was a technical leader in Ford Europe for engine air path development, and lately component development and delivery for key emission components including EGR.

David Heaton

Richard Judge

Delphi Diesel Systems

Dr Ricardo Martinez-Botas

Imperial College London

Dr Robert Morgan

Dr Ben Moxey - Young Members Representative

Richard Osborne


Eur Ing David Rogers

 Kistler Instrumente AG

Alan Tolley

JCB Power Systems

Dr James Turner

Jamie Turner Professor of Engines and Energy Systems at the University of Bath

James Turner has a Master of Engineering degree from City University London and a Ph.D. from Loughborough University.  He is a specialist in the field of spark-ignition combustion, pressure charging systems, alcohol fuels and engine/fuel interactions.

He has nearly 30 years of experience in the field of internal combustion engines, and has published or co-authored 100 papers and book chapters in the field.  He spent over 21 years working at Lotus Engineering, latterly being Chief Engineer for Powertrain Research, in which role he worked on many novel engine, transmission and fuel concepts.

In addition to his areas of specialisation, his other main area of interest is renewable energy and its application to the transport sector, with particular emphasis on the use of and possibilities afforded by alcohol fuels.  The synergies between pressure-charged engines and such fuels are of great interest to him, having originated in his previous work on the performance development of methanol-burning IndyCar engines.

In addition to working at Lotus Engineering, he has worked at Norton Motorcycles, Cosworth Racing and Jaguar Land Rover.

Dr Martyn Twigg


Steve Whelan

Dr John Williams

BP International Ltd

Get in touch

Have a question or would like to get involved?

Contact our Member Engagement Team

Join the IMechE conversation

Facebook Logo X Logo LinkedIn Logo Instagram Logo YouTube Logo

Update your email preferences

Sign up to newsletters

Log in to My Account to update your preferences.