Diversity and Inclusion

IMechE celebrates 2020 Prestige Award winners

Institution News Team

(l and r top) Emilio Martínez Pañeda, Awaz Ali: (centre) Jude Pullen (l and r bottom) Ahmed Kovacevic, Daniel Ronen
(l and r top) Emilio Martínez Pañeda, Awaz Ali: (centre) Jude Pullen (l and r bottom) Ahmed Kovacevic, Daniel Ronen

Open to both members and non-members of the Institution, the Prestige Awards champion engineers who have improved the world, or advanced the discipline of engineering through professional and volunteering efforts.

Join us in congratulating the Institution’s 2020 Prestige Award winners:

Alastair Graham-Bryce Award

Alastair Graham-Bryce Award: awarded for making a significant contribution to the encouragement of young people towards a career in engineering.

Congratulations to Jude Pullen.

“The award is especially important to me as it was a TV show about design (Better by Design) that made me quit my job and retrain as a Product Design Engineer at Glasgow. So it's a nice 'full circle' to be helping make shows and create projects that inspire young people into what is an amazing career!” – Jude Pullen.

Award for Risk Reduction

Award for Risk Reduction: awarded for exceptional contribution to the understanding and/or reduction of risk in mechanical engineering.

Congratulations to Emilio Martínez Pañeda.

“The award is very important because it recognises the impact that our research in structural integrity problems, such as stress corrosion cracking or hydrogen embrittlement, is having on society and engineering practice.” – Emilio Martínez Pañeda.

James Clayton Prize

James Clayton Prize: awarded for exceptional contribution to modern engineering science – by way of research, invention, experimental work, a paper on a modern engineering subject, originality in engineering design or by service to engineering.

Congratulations to Ahmed Kovacevic.

“I am extremely honoured to receive this prestigious prize which is tribute to the work of our team in the field of fluid machinery.” – Ahmed Kovacevic.

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal: awarded for the best original paper published by the Institution during the past 12 months.

  • Awaz Ali
  • Aimee Sakes
  • Ewout A Arkenbout
  • Paul Henselmans
  • Remi van Starkenburg
  • Tamas Szili-Torok
  • Paul Breedveld

“Winning this award is meaningful because it feels like an acknowledgement from the scientific community.” – Awaz Ali.

Verena Winifred Holmes Award

Verena Winifred Holmes Award: (previously known as the Equality and Diversity Award), awarded to those who have stretched the normal boundaries of expectation for the benefit of the wider society by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation.

Congratulations to Daniel Ronen.

“I am honoured to receive this award from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, and hope that it will inspire others to work together to help build an inclusive and positive legacy for future generations.” – Daniel Ronen.

Awards Ceremony

IMechE will further celebrate the 2020 Prestige award winners at the IMechE Prestige and Visionary virtual award ceremony hosted by the President, Terry Spall, and the Chief Executive, Colin Brown.

Apply in 2021

Are you interested in our 2021 Prestige Awards? Each award is open to self-nomination. Find out more at www.imeche.org/prestige awards


Professional Engineering magazine

Professional Engineering app

  • Industry features and content
  • Engineering and Institution news
  • News and features exclusive to app users

Download our Professional Engineering app

Professional Engineering newsletter

A weekly round-up of the most popular and topical stories featured on our website, so you won't miss anything

Subscribe to Professional Engineering newsletter

Opt into your industry sector newsletter

Related articles