Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal

Awards for the best original papers published by the Institution during the past 12 months.


  • Open to all Institution Members and non-members, worldwide.

Award conditions

  • Nominations are considered by the Trustee Board Awards Committee in May.
  • Successful recipients are notified by the Chair of the Trustee Board Awards Committee at the end of June.

Applications process

Closing date: 31 March 2022.

  • Self nomination and third party nominations are permitted.
  • Submit the completed application form and any other supporting documents to:

    Karen Frost
    IMechE Prizes and Awards Department 
    ASK House 
    Northgate Avenue 
    Bury St Edmunds 
    IP32 6BB 
    United Kingdom.

Value of award

  • A certificate will be presented to all authors.

Award winners

George Stephenson Gold Medal

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube

Discover more about our
Prestige Awards

Apply today