Engineering news

Engineering awards season opens with chance to win a share of £20,000


Last year’s awards were presented at the Institution’s Annual Dinner, held at the London Science Museum
Last year’s awards were presented at the Institution’s Annual Dinner, held at the London Science Museum

Prizes worth almost £20,000 are on offer for winners of this year’s IMechE Prestige Awards.

Nominations are now open for the annual awards, which champion engineers who have improved the world or advanced engineering through professional or volunteering work.

“The Prestige Awards are open to people working in academia and industry as well as in volunteer roles, and are a fantastic opportunity to honour engineers working to improve the world we live in,” said Jenifer Baxter, head of engineering policy at the institution.

Previous winners include Dame Ann Dowling, who won the James Watt International Gold Medal for her work improving people’s lives around the world using mechanical engineering, and Andy Cowell, managing director of Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains, who received the James Clayton Prize for his outstanding contributions to engine design and development in Formula One.

This year’s awards are:

The James Clayton Prize

Prize: Up to £10,000 plus certificate

Awarded to a member(s) of the institution who contributes most in that year (or over recent years) to modern engineering science – by way of research, invention, experimental work, a paper on a modern engineering subject, originality in engineering design or by service to engineering.

The James Watt International Gold Medal

The premier international award of the institution is awarded biennially to an eminent engineer who has attained worldwide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction – science and research, invention or production.

The Alastair Graham-Bryce Award

Prize: £5,000 and trophy

Prize(s) awarded to an individual or group making a significant contribution to the encouragement of young people towards a career in engineering.

The Verena Winifred Holmes Award

Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

The Verena Winifred Holmes Award (previously the Equality and Diversity Award) is intended to recognise those individuals who have achieved by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation. 

The Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering

Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

This award recognises any eminent engineer who has contributed most in the understanding and/or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering. 

The Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal

Awarded for the best original papers published by the institution in the past 12 months.

To nominate an engineer, visit the website before 31 March.

Winners will receive their awards at the institution’s annual dinner in the autumn.


PE Magazine

PE app

  • Industry features and content
  • Engineering and Institution news
  • News and features exclusive to app users

Download the PE app

PE newsletter

A weekly round-up of the most popular and topical stories featured on our website, so you won't miss anything

Subscribe to the PE newsletter

Opt into your industry sector newsletter

Related articles