Formula Student

Nominations open: Craig Dawson Most Valuable Team Member Award 2022

Formula Student Team

Awards from FS2021
Awards from FS2021

Give one of your teammates some well-deserved recognition for their work on your team's 2021/2022 car.

Download your form from the Forms and Documents page (it's under the Awards list).

This is your chance to highlight one person who has above and beyond when to make your car a reality.

The most important thing is that all team members agree that this person has put forth the extra effort necessary to really be the team’s most valuable member. We ask that you keep your nomination to a reasonable length – no War And Peace please!

Take some time and think about what/who it takes to make your Formula Team run smoothly and let us know: simply send the form to with the subject line “Craig Dawson Award 2022” by 17 June 2022 by 1700 UTC - kindly provide a photo of your team member and team logo as well.

Entries will be carefully considered and assessed by the unimitable Sam Collins, one of the current faces of the Formula One(tm) Tech Talks series, and the prize will be awarded during the Closing Ceremony on 10 July 2022.

About the award

Craig Dawson

The award is named for former FS competitor, FS Faculty advisor and FS commentator Craig Dawson, who sadly passed away in 2011. Craig’s passion for motorsport was insatiable and initially got involved in FS with an early Oxford Brookes car in 2000. His enthusiasm was infectious and he drove his FS team to success, going on to work at BAR F1, Intersport, ATL, CRS Scuderia and Team Modena afterwards.

In memory of Craig, the Institution of Mechanical Engineers is proud to present the award bearing his name that highlights the efforts of a particular individual on a Formula Student team and will be presented to a student participant that is nominated by his/her fellow teammates on the awards evening.

Previous award winners include Marcos Fernandez Canda from University of Vigo (2015), Alvaro Sanchez Vela from University of Southampton (2016), Abigail Carson from Lancaster University (2017), Maria Rubi from Oxford Brookes University (2018), Pranit Wajtve from Rajendra Mane College of Engineering & Technology (2019), Callum Lowery from University of Portsmouth (2020) and Robert Eves from Lancaster University (2021).


Read more related articles

Professional Engineering magazine

Professional Engineering app

  • Industry features and content
  • Engineering and Institution news
  • News and features exclusive to app users

Download our Professional Engineering app

Professional Engineering newsletter

A weekly round-up of the most popular and topical stories featured on our website, so you won't miss anything

Subscribe to Professional Engineering newsletter

Opt into your industry sector newsletter

Related articles