Our Young Members Board

Our Young Members Board (YMB) representatives are responsible for bringing the views of our Young Members from their specific area to the forefront of discussion.

Our YM representatives share best practice with each other across regions, industry divisions, specialist groups, consultative committees and overseas members. This fusion of views within the YMB forms a cohesive vision that represents all YMs at our main Trustee Board meetings. The YMB is an ideal support network for YMs because it covers a vast variety of areas.

Find out more about being a YMB representative.

This is a list of all positions in the YMB and the current representatives in post. Please make a note of your rep and work with them to strengthen the voice of our Young Members.

Young Members Board 2018-19

Role Name
Chair-Elect and Acting Chair Christian Young
Vice-Chair Ben Vallely
Vice-Chair Ben Mills-Wallace
Immediate Past Chair  Lydia Amarquaye
YMB Trustee Board Rep Gavin Kerby

UK Regions and Branch representatives

Region Name
Eastern Tony Frater
East Midlands Michael Hirst
Greater London Roshini Wijesekera
Merseyside & North Wales Ethan Spall
Midlands James Fairbairn
North-East Costas Yiangou
North-West Elliot McDermott
Northern Ireland TBC
Republic of Ireland Shane Keaveney
Scotland Gareth MacMillan
South-East Ben Carter
South Wales Matt  Sambrook
Thameswey Connor Mcaleer
Wessex Sally Baughurst
Western Francis Galloway
Yorkshire Jodie Howlett

Key themes

Theme Name
Education Christian Young
Energy Ross O'Brien
Environmental Jin Xuan
Manufacturing Jason Yearsley
Transport Katherine Walsh

Industries and specialisms

Industry Name
Aerospace Stephen McLaughlin
Automobile TBC
Construction & Building Services TBC
Energy Environment and Sustainability TBC
Fluid Machinery Nilla Karlsen-Davies
Manufacturing Jason Yearsley
Medical Engineering Dominic Graham
Mechatronics, Informatics & Controls Nicholas Valentine
Power Industries Martina Cheadle
Powertrain Systems & Fuels Group Ben Moxey
Pressure Systems Jarryd Mortimer
Process Industries Stacie Tibos
Railway Emil Tschepp
Safety & Reliability Jake Brown
Structural Technology & Materials Narmeen Rehman
Thermofluids Jacob Fisher
Tribology Abimbola Oladokun

Consultative committees

Committee Name
EngTech representative Gavin Kerby
Equality and Diversity Steering Group (ESDG) Ladi Ariyo
International Representative Charanya Venkatesan-Crome
Professional Development Standards Committee Elizabeth McDougall / Ying wan Loh
Qualifications and Membership Board Anna Coppel
Regional Strategy Board Francis Galloway
Student Panel TBC
Technical Strategy Board Ben Mills-Wallace
Trustee Board Awards Committee Christopher Green/Jake Brown


Tom Garwood
Ewan McBride

Ask a question

If you feel you're a suitable candidate for the Young Members Board, contact us.

The Young Members Board is currently recruiting for various positions.

For further information please visit our recruitment page.