Our Young Members Board

Our Young Members Board (YMB) representatives are responsible for bringing the views of our Young Members from their specific area to the forefront of discussion.

Our YM representatives share best practice with each other across regions, industry divisions, specialist groups, consultative committees and overseas members. This fusion of views within the YMB forms a cohesive vision that represents all YMs at our main Trustee Board meetings. The YMB is an ideal support network for YMs because it covers a vast variety of areas.

Find out more about being a YMB representative.

This is a list of all positions in the YMB and the current representatives in post. Please make a note of your rep and work with them to strengthen the voice of our Young Members.

Young Members Board 2019-20

YMB Executive Team

Role Name
Chair Ben Vallely
Immediate Past Chair Christian Young
Chair-Elect Ben Mills-Wallace
Vice-Chair Nicky Valentine
Vice-Chair Costas Yiangou
Trustee Board Representative Michael Hirst

UK Regions and Branch representatives

Region Name
Eastern Tony Frater
East Midlands Michael Hirst
Greater London Alexios Koltsidopoulos Papatzimos
Merseyside & North Wales Joseph Latham
Midlands Leesha Muman
North-East Madeline Combrinck
North-West Elliot McDermott
Northern Ireland TBC
Republic of Ireland TBC
Scotland Gareth MacMillan
South-East Ben Carter
South Wales Sajal Gurung
Thameswey TBC
Wessex Simon Porter
Western TBC
Yorkshire Adam Race

Key Themes

Theme Name
Education Tony Frater
Energy Ross O'Brien
Environmental Vacant
Manufacturing Jason Yearsley
Transport Katherine Walsh
 Healthcare Samual Vennin 

Industries and Specialisms

Industry Name
Aerospace Stephen McLaughlin
Automobile Charanya Venkatesan-Crome
Construction & Building Services Maira Bana
Energy Environment and Sustainability Alex Waterfield
Fluid Machinery Nilla Karlsen-Davies
Manufacturing Jason Yearsley
Biomedical Engineering Samuel Vennin
Mechatronics, Informatics & Controls Nicky Valentine
Power Industries Martina Cheadle
Powertrain Systems & Fuels Group Ben Moxey
Pressure Systems TBC
Process Industries Murat Islam
Railway May-Ann Lew
Safety & Reliability Jon Wiggins
Structural Technology & Materials Narmeen Rehman
Thermofluids Jacob Fisher
Tribology Abimbola Oladokun

Consultative Committees

Committee Name
EngTech representative TBC
Equality and Diversity Steering Group (ESDG) Ladi Ariyo
Professional Development Standards Committee Elizabeth McDougall / Ying wan Loh
Qualifications and Membership Board Ben Moxey
Regional Strategy Board Gareth MacMillan
Technical Strategy Board Emil Tschepp
Trustee Board Awards Committee Christopher Green/Jake Brown
 Education Skills Strategy Board Christian Young 
Education Advisory Committee  Tony Frater 
 Heritage Committee TBC 


Ethan Spall
Roshni Wijesekera

Ask a question

If you feel you're a suitable candidate for the Young Members Board, contact us.

The Young Members Board is currently recruiting for various positions.

For further information please visit our recruitment page.