Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

Institution news

FREng honour for Institution members

Institution News Team

Clive Hickman
Clive Hickman

Twelve members of the Institution have been elected Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng).

The Royal Academy of Engineering brings together the most successful and talented engineers to advance and promote excellence in engineering. It is heavily involved in engineering education and research funding, and works to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering.

Professor Richard Folkson, President of the Institution, warmly congratulated all of the newly elected Fellows of the Academy. He said: “They have been recognised at the highest level for their contributions to engineering. We are delighted to see Institution Members and Fellows honoured for their achievements."

Among the prestigious Institution contingent were Dr Clive Hickman BSc PhD MBA DSc (Hon) CEng FIMechE FREng and Professor Hua Zhao BEng PhD DSc CEng FIMechE FSAE FREng.

Dr Hickman is Chief Executive, Manufacturing Technology Centre (MTC) and is also a Vice President of the Institution. He has a distinguished record of outstanding contributions to the success of the UK automotive industry. His engineering leadership roles in industry have included Tata Motors, Ricardo UK and Rover Group. 

In research and development, and in senior management, Clive has identified strategic opportunities in engineering and manufacturing and implemented programmes that have brought world-leading innovation to the sector.

He said: “It is a privilege to be elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and this marks a major milestone in my career. It provides a unique platform for me to help build even stronger links between the Mechanicals and the Royal Academy, which is something I am keen to facilitate if I can.”

Professor Zhao, currently the Vice-Dean of Research in the College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences at Brunel University, was among the 50 newly elected Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2015. A Fellow of the Institution, Professor Zhao is Chair of the Combustion Engines and Fuels Group Committee.
During his time at Brunel, he established the Centre for Advanced Powertrain and Fuels (CAPF), one of Europe’s most active research centres on internal combustion engines and their fuels. He has progressed fundamental and applied research into novel engine combustion concepts, air hybrid engine/vehicle technologies and advanced laser diagnostics for the development of high efficiency and ultra-low emissions powertrains for the automotive industry.

Professor Zhao described his election as an ‘honour’ and said: “Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering is one of the greatest accolades that can be awarded to an engineer and academic at the leading edge of engineering research.  I look forward to making greater contributions to the engineering community – such as the Institution – and to engineering education and the development of innovative technologies that can benefit society.” 

Also elected FREng were the following Fellows of the Institution (FIMechE):

  • Timothy Burnhope, Chief Innovation and Growth Officer, JCB Group
  • Ivor Catto, Independent consultant; formerly Chief Executive Officer, Hyder Consulting 
  • Professor Colin Garner, Caterpillar-Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Applied Thermodynamics, Loughborough University 
  • Dr Chris Haynes OBE, Project Assurance Consultant, KazMinerals Plc; Non-Executive Director, Woodside Petroleum Ltd, Perth; Non-Executive Director, WorleyParsons Ltd, Sydney 
  • Professor Karen Holford, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Head of College of Physical Sciences and Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Cardiff University
  • John Mair, Technology Director, Corporate, Subsea7
  • Professor Robert Parkin, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research and Knowledge Transfer), University of Bradford 
  • Professor Michael Wisnom, Professor of Aerospace Structures, University of Bristol; Director, Advanced Composites Centre for Innovation and Science (ACCIS); Director, Rolls-Royce Composites UTC 

    Vincent de Rivaz CBE, Chief Executive EDF Energy, Honorary Fellow of the Institution and Dr Richard Jefferys MIMechE, Senior Research Director, University of Edinburgh were also elected FREng.

  • Share:

    Professional Engineering magazine

    Professional Engineering app

    • Industry features and content
    • Engineering and Institution news
    • News and features exclusive to app users

    Download our Professional Engineering app

    Professional Engineering newsletter

    A weekly round-up of the most popular and topical stories featured on our website, so you won't miss anything

    Subscribe to Professional Engineering newsletter

    Opt into your industry sector newsletter

    Related articles