Upstream Oil and Gas Committee

The Upstream Oil and Gas Committee (UOGC) brings attention to the needs of the global upstream engineering community by means of education, training and awareness.

The committee will sponsor events that prioritise these objectives at the highest level.




Who we are

The Upstream Oil & Gas Committee (UO&G) is a Technical Activity Committee (TAC) of the Process Industries Division focused on technologies associated with upstream activities in the onshore and offshore oil and gas industries.

We aim to provide technical leadership in the mechanical engineering disciplines used in the sector, through a combination of high-quality technical events and activities.  We also aim to provide information for new entrants to the industry through webinars and lectures.


  • Provide technical leadership through high-quality lectures, seminars and conferences.
  • Maintain our links with other interested bodies, such as regional and technical branches of the IMechE and other institutions such at the SPE and the IChemE.
  • Produce technical reports on new industry developments for the benefit of institution members, and also to support the institution’s policy activities.
  • Promote education, training and continuing professional development
  • Foster excellence within mechanical engineering by managing the award of the Thomas Lowe Gray Prize.

Industries represented

The following are some of the industries encompassed by UO&G activities.

  • Oil and gas exploration and production
    • Offshore, via fixed, floating, or subsea facilities.
    • Onshore, whether by conventional or unconventional methods.

Committee members

Simon Rees - Chair

Projects Director, Norton Straw Consultants

Zac Suresh Arackakudyil

Technology - Completion Tool Manufacturing, Halliburton Energy Services

Hamid Bahai

Head of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering Department, Brunel University

Lee Billingham


Feargal Brennan

Professor of Offshore Engineering, School of Engineering, Cranfield University

James Bridge

Consultant - Rotating Equipment Specialist

Charles Briggs MEng MSc CEng MIMechE

Charles Briggs Works Manager, Cables Offshore Jan de Nul.

Charles wasborn in Coventry, grew up near Warwick and attended Solihull School. He was sponsored through Durham University by Imperial Chemicals Industries (ICI), completing his M.Eng in Engineering, specialising in mechanical and manufacturing engineering, in 1999.

Following a year of travel, he started on the Unilever graduate scheme in 2000. I gained my IMechE chartership in 2003, and my Association for Project Management (APM) Practitioner level (IMPA Level D) in 2004.

In 2009 he started a one year MSc in Renewable Energy Engineering at Heriot-Watt University, and since 2010 has been working in the renewable energy sector, specialising in Offshore Wind. Since then he has worked  for SgurrEnergy, Technip Offshore Wind and now Jan De Nul Group. He is currently working on offshore wind projects in Taiwan.

Robert Broad


John Clegg

Director of Research, Development and Engineering, Weatherford

John Clegg has 32 years’ experience in engineering, manufacturing, sales and operations in upstream oil and gas.  He has worked with: drill bits; directional drilling; measurement while drilling; logging while drilling; managed pressure drilling; wireline services; and subsea controls.


Currently based in the USA, John is an active member of Society of Petroleum Engineers where he serves on the Program Committee for the annual Drilling Conference and as Program Chair for the Drilling Systems Automation Technical Section.  John is a Fellow of IMechE and has served on the committee since its creation.

Elias Dencker

Director, Renewable Strategy

Klisthenis Dimitriadis


Cris Fells

Cris Fells Associates

Andrew Gillespie

Lead Certification Engineer, Bifold

Andy Hollins

Principal Consultant, ABB Consulting

Edward Jackson

Senior Training Manager, Oil and Gas, Siemens

David Linkens

Atkins Global

Sam Lisney

Mechanical Engineer, Petrofac

Steven Mabey


Padrig O'Hara

Project Specialist, Amazon Filters

Stuart Paterson

Proposals Manager Tendering, Saipem UK Ltd

Joydip Sanyal

R&D Program Manager - Analytical Measurement, ABB Limited

Mahmood Shafiee

Lecturer in Engineering Risk Analysis, Centre for Offshore Renewable Energy Engineering , Cranfield University

Alex Stacey

Structural & Maritime Integrity Unit, Energy Division, Health & Safety Executive

John Strutt

Chief Consultant, Astrimar Ltd

Rob Swindell

R&D and Technical Authority, Wood Group



Prizes and Awards

The Committee also provides nominations to Process Industries Division's prizes and awards

Get in touch

Have a question or would like to get involved?

Contact our Member Engagement Team

Join the IMechE conversation

Facebook LogoTwitter LogoLinkedIn LogoInstagram LogoYouTube Logo

Update your email preferences

Sign up to newsletters

Log in to My Account to update your preferences.