Bridget Eickhoff and Neville Jackson

The James Clayton Prize is awarded to a member of the Institution who has made an exceptional contribution to mechanical engineering and related science, technology and invention – by way of research, invention, experimental work, a paper, engineering design or services to engineering. Bridget Eickhoff 2

Bridget Eickhoff

Bridget Eickhoff CEng FIMechE is Principal Infrastructure Engineer at RSSB (Rail Safety and Standards Board). She is a mechanical engineer whose expertise and experience is in the rail specific discipline of the wheel-rail interface.

Bridget has a degree in Mathematics from Cambridge University and started her career at British Rail Research, where she was recruited into a mechanical engineering role and encouraged to become a member of the Institution and a chartered engineer. As a result of railway privatisation, she moved to AEA Technology Rail (later DeltaRail) and since 2008 she has been at RSSB.

Bridget has been involved in many projects that had and have a significant impact on the railway industry in the UK and overseas. She was the GB lead on the recently completed EU funded ‘DynoTRAIN’ project which facilitated the spread of European certification and acceptance procedures for the dynamics of railway vehicles. The new procedures include increased use of simulation in place of testing, to speed up interoperable product approvals, thus making the process more efficient without compromising safety. Bridget has a wide and deep knowledge of the engineering of railway systems, and her understanding of the technologies underpinning the safe operation of the railway was used to steer the project team in making significant improvements in the way that innovations can be adopted by the industry.

Bridget is an impressive leader in the rail industry. Professor Anson Jack proposed Bridget for this prize: “In my view, Bridget's contribution to the industry in her leadership of the GB standards process on infrastructure, her leadership of key elements of the DynoTRAIN project and her leadership of the industry activity to generate, approve and publish a strategy for the Platform Train Interface, mean that she will finish her career having left a significant and lasting legacy.”

Bridget has been closely involved with the Institution over many years, working within the Railway Division in the Midlands Centre and at Headquarters, developing learning and training packages, supporting the ‘Railway Challenge’ and encouraging young engineers to take on significant roles in the rail industry.

 Reflecting on winning the prize, Bridget says: ”I was amazed to learn that I had won this prize. As a mathematics graduate I was very fortunate to be offered an engineering role at BR Research in the fascinating technical area of vehicle-track interaction. In the late 1970s the increasing power of computers and the ability to undertake full-scale on-track tests, enabled us to develop software tools that still underpin the dynamics of modern railway vehicles.

“Together with colleagues across Great Britain and the international railway world, I have been involved in a range of areas, from studying the details of the wheel-rail interface and finding ways to mitigate derailment risk, to developing and supporting railway standards. The success of the DynoTRAIN project was certainly a highlight, working in a strong international team.

“Railway engineering continues to provide me with new and interesting challenges and it is rewarding to share my knowledge with other engineers. I hope that the recognition of the importance of railway engineering bestowed by this prize will encourage others to take a similar career path.”

Bridget Eickhoff was also the recipient of 2016 George Stephenson Gold Medal 

Neville Jackson

Professor Neville Jackson FREng FIMechE CEng is the Chief Technology & Innovation Officer at Ricardo plc, having previously been the Technology Director for Ricardo UK. He is responsible for developing the future global vision of automotive and energy technology at Ricardo and for the strategy and direction of research and development. His technical expertise and leadership in automotive powertrain and vehicle systems engineering are well known and respected.

Neville Jackson JC2017I do not believe it is an exaggeration to say that Neville has been a major contributor to the UK’s global position as a leading innovator and manufacturer of motor vehicles,” reflects Professor Nick Vaughan from Cranfield University, on behalf of the Institution’s Automobile Division Board, which proposed Neville for this prize.  

Neville has a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from Imperial College London, and a doctorate from City University. His career has included 35 years at Ricardo focused on research and technology demonstration programmes covering advanced combustion engines, hybrid systems and energy recovery technologies. He has produced over 130 technical papers, keynote presentations and invited lectures in the US, Europe and the Far East.  Looking to the future and identifying the next technological breakthrough is a key part of Neville’s job. “Engineers tend to be data driven which is an important attribute, but to look forward into the future, we need an element of thought leadership and an ability to create a coherent future vision that policy makers can understand.”

Neville is Chair of the Advisory Group for the UK Advanced Propulsion Centre and Deputy Chair of the UK Automotive Council Technology Group. He is also an elected Vice Chairman of the European Road Transport Research Advisory Council which is focused on the future vision of European road transport and R&D priorities for the Framework R&D support programme and a member of the advisory board for the European Green Vehicle Initiative.  He is also a visiting Professor at the University of Brighton, a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the US SAE.

“I am really surprised and honoured to win this prestigious prize,” he explains. “Understanding the future is becoming very difficult as the pace of change increases, so I am particularly pleased to be recognised for the work I have done on leading the research agenda for future mobility and the associated energy systems and critical resources.”

Find out more about the James Clayton prize

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.

Discover more about our
Prestige Awards

Apply today