Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

Our trustee board

Our Trustee Board governs and controls the Institution. Our Corporate and Associate Members elect our Trustees; elections are held every year.

The Trustee Board typically meets eight times a year and Trustees are expected to attend most, if not all, board meetings. It is also customary for Trustees to attend Council meetings.

The Charity Commission, our Royal Charter and By Laws, our Trustee Role Profile and our Trustee Code of Conduct set out the responsibilities of the Trustee Board.

Trustee Board 2023-24


Giles Hartill

Deputy Presidents:

Dr Clive Hickman OBE
Matt Garside


Professor David Nowell
Dr Richard Judge
Simon Evans

Ordinary Members

Bridget Eickhoff
Ruth Shilston
Abbey Addison
Chris Chong**
Joshua Thomson-Smith***


Martin Robinson (Chair of Council)
Nick Valentine (YMB Representative)

Notes: **Member ordinarily resident overseas     ***Member under 30


Our President holds office for one year. Our Deputy President holds office for two years and then becomes our President.

The Deputy Presidents and Vice-Presidents are expected to chair one of our key boards, to also serve on a board or committee, to head various studies, to represent the President at events or visits, and to represent us on external boards and committees. Ordinary members are expected to serve on one or more of the key boards.

Find out more

Trustee Board Meetings

Meeting dates 2023/24

22 June 2023
27 July 2023
8 September 2023
14 December 2023
 7 March 2024
25 April 2024

Trustee Board Report and Annual Accounts

Find out how we are improving the world through engineering, meeting our strategic objectives and about our annual accounts - download the Trustee Board's report and annual accounts.

If you would like a printed version of this document, contact the Governance Department, at

Ask a question

Get in touch if you have a question about the Trustee Board.

The new Engineer 360

From the Trustees

IMechE President Giles Hartill provides updates on Trustee Board activities.



President Tony Roche

Your Institution needs you

Past President Tony Roche explains the role of Trustees.