Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

Design Challenge


National Final 2017

In 2017, participants were challenged to design and build a repeatable vehicle. 

The National Final 2017 took place at IMechE headquarters on 6 October 2017 between the winners of the respective regional finals.

2017 Challenge Winners - Manchester Metropolitan University – (North West Region)


Congratulations to Manchester Metropolitan University (North West Region), winners of the Design Challenge 2017 first-year competition.


Brunel University team paying close attention to the first years competition

Our congratulations also go to Brunel University London (Greater London Region), walk-over champions in the second-year competition.


First years - competitors

  • University of Leeds (Yorkshire Region)
  • Bournemouth University (Wessex Region)
  • Manchester Metropolitan University (Northwestern Region)
  • Coventry University (Midland Region)
  • Durham University (Northeastern Region)
  • Middlesex University (Greater London Region).

Second years – (walk-over Grand Champions)

  • Brunel University London (Greater London Region)

Get in touch

Have a question? Would like to get involved?

Follow the Design Challenge:

Follow us on Facebook         Follow us on Twitter

Challenge Sponsors and Partners