Donald Julius Groen Prize

Awarded for outstanding papers or for outstanding achievements in the sphere of activity of the awarding Division or Group.


  • Open to Members and non-members worldwide
  • Nominations can be made for an individual or a group of authors.

Award value

  • £250.

Application process

Closing date: Date of next award to be confirmed.

Further information

Toggle Trust Fund conditions, award funding and number of awards

Award winners

2018 Prize winner: Andrea Antenucci

Andrea Antenucci Donald Julius Groen prize winner The Safety & Reliability Group sponsors one of the Donald Julius Groen awards annually for the best submitted paper in the field of safety and reliability.

In 2018, the winning paper - Antenucci, A. and Sansavini, G. "Adequacy and security analysis of interdependent electric and gas networks", Proc IMechE, Part O: J Risk and Reliability 2018; 232(2): 121-139 was co-written by Andrea Antenucci, our prize winner.

Brief synopsis

The paper demonstrates how to assess resilience, adequacy and security of electric and gas networks, and find the most vulnerable components that are prone to failure and can lead to gas pressure instabilities and loss of supply. The authors propose a methodology for simulation-based modelling of dependent networks: through inclusion of system operation and system state variables (current, pressure and mass flow), modelling disruption and critical conditions, including transient model of the gas network and cascading failure model of the electric power model.

The model is applied with reference to a simplified energy infrastructure in the UK. The approach could be used to prevent critical operating conditions, induced by the interactions of networks, help with safety-based decisions and development of mitigating strategies.

Get in touch

Have a question about this Award or Prize?

Contact our Member Engagement Team:

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube