Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

IMechE Bulk Solids Handling Award

Presented for either a paper published by the Institution, or for research, design, or development work in the field of solids handling, or in recognition of an individual's professional excellence in the field of bulk solids technology.


  • Open to members and non-members, worldwide.

Award conditions

Award value

  • £250, a certificate and a plaque.

Application process

Closing date: 29 March 2023

Award winners:

2021 Prize Winner: Professor Ugur Tuzun (Process Industries Division)

The Process Industries Divisions, Bulk Materials Handling Committee has awarded Professor Ugur Tuzun the Bulk Solids Handling Award 2021.

Professor Ugur Tuzun

Ugur Tuzun was a pillar of the academic and educational community in particulate processing for many years.  He was highly active within learned institutions including both the “Institution of Mechanical Engineers” and the “Institution of Chemical Engineers” at both committee and board levels for many years. His contribution to the cohesion of the community in the cross-over between chemical and mechanical engineering was exemplary.

Ugur made a significant contribution to technical research and development in the field of particulate materials, their processing and monitoring, publishing more than 120 papers in peer-reviewed journals.  His research interests and activities included multi-phase process systems engineering, particle science and technology, nano-technology, environmental process systems and systems integration design.

However, Ugur’s real passion, and where he made his mark on the community, was in liaison with others across the profession to shape education and knowledge transfer in the field. 

Ugur’s untimely passing came as a great shock to all those of us who knew and worked with him, and is deserving of recognition of his achievements in his lifetime that was so sadly cut short.

Get in touch

Have a question about this Award or Prize?

Contact our Member Engagement Team:

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube

Discover how our
Scholarships and Awards can help your studies and career

Apply today