Astridge Postgraduate Research Scholarship

The Astridge Award is intended for the promotion/advancement of airworthiness/safety in the field of aviation.

Who was Derek Astridge?

Derek was an engineer of international repute.   He joined Westland from Rolls-Royce Engines in 1975 and contributed much to their engine bearing technology; he was instrumental in establishing  their Mechanical Engineering Research Department.  

This is the second award in his name, the first, the Derek George Astridge Safety in Aerospace Award, was established after his death in 2000. A medal and specially commissioned trophy are awarded annually. This award was made possible by a bequest in Margaret Astridge’s will. As Derek’s wife, Margaret came to IMechE for a number of years to present the award in her husband’s name.

What is scholarship worth?

This award will be made annually to support a postgraduate conducting research or working in the field of aviation safety/airworthiness. The Award is worth up to £6,500* per year (full-time and part-time pro-rata) and may be for up to three years in the case of a PhD project or for one year in the case of an MSc project.

*higher than many of the other postgraduate scholarships offered by IMechE which only offer £5,000.

Am I eligible?

  • Applicants are invited to submit a proposal for this scholarship to support their airworthiness/aviation safety research project.
  • Their project will contribute towards some substantial development or enhancement of airworthiness or aircraft safety
  • On its completion, the results will be made available to the Institution for inclusion in our library of papers and for use in Professional Engineering magazine, etc.
  • The postgraduate receiving the award is also expected to provide a short presentation on the results of the study to the Student Seminar on airworthiness/safety that the Institution of Mechanical Engineers’ Airworthiness Technical Activities Committee (AIRTAC) organises and runs each year.

How do I apply?

Applications should be made using this form.  Prior to completing this, we advise applicants to review the awards conditions.

The proposals received will be assessed by the AIRTAC and a preferred candidate identified.  If no proposals of sufficient merit are forthcoming, no award will be made for that year. The recommendation for an award will be offered for ratification by the Institution’s Scholarship Awards Committee and, if accepted, the funds will be sent to the relevant university department.

To apply, download the application form and reference requests:

Deadline for applications 

Closing date for applications is 1 August 2019.

Find out about our other postgraduate scholarships and awards.

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.