Tribology Gold Medal

Tribology Gold Medal Award (Serial 451) is funded from The Tribology Trust Fund and selected by the Tribology Trust Awards Committee, administered by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Award Conditions

Awarded each year for some outstanding and supreme achievement in the field of tribology. The Gold Medal may be awarded to a team, in which case each member of the team receives a replica of the medal. A certificate is also presented to medal winners.

Number of Awards


Value of Awards

Gold Medal.

How are Tribology Gold Laureates selected?

The Tribology Gold Medal is considered the world’s premier award in tribology. Accordingly, the Committee collaborates with the International Tribology Council (ITC) Executive to ensure that all candidates have references and strong support from at least five eminent tribologists from different countries before their application is considered. Either the nominator or the seconder must be a member of the ITC Executive or a past Gold Medal award winner.

Closing date: 31 May.

How to nominate

IMechE Tribology Gold Medal Laureates  

The Gold Medal for Tribology was established and first awarded in 1972. Since then, it has been awarded to 47 individuals from 18 different countries.

Get in touch

Have a question about this Award or Prize?

Contact our Member Engagement Team: