Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal

Awards for the best original papers published by the Institution during the past 12 months.

Only one Gold Medal is awarded each year for each award and only if a paper is deemed worthy of the award.  If the prize-winning paper is the work of more than one author, the co-author(s) receives a bronze replica.

Apply now

How to apply

Download and submit the nomination form below and any other supporting documents by 31 March 2019 to:

Karen Frost 
ASK House 
IMechE Prizes and Awards Department 
Northgate Avenue 
Bury St Edmunds 
IP32 6BB 
United Kingdom


Gold medals to the lead authors, replica bronze medal to co-author(s).


The award is open to all Institution Members and non-members.

Previous winners

George Stephenson Gold Medal

2018 winners
2017 winners
2016 winners
2015 winners
2013 winners

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal

2018 winners
2017 winners
2016 winners
2015 winners
2013 winner

Nominations process

Nominations are considered by the Trustee Board Awards Committee in May and recommendations for awards are forwarded to the Trustee Board for approval in June. 

Successful recipients are notified by the President at the end of June and invited with a guest of their choice to a celebration of their success in London in the Autumn.

Contact us

If you have any queries or experience problems downloading the form contact us:
Telephone: +44 (0) 1284 717887


Ask a question

Contact our prizes and awards team if you any questions about our awards, scholarships or prizes.